Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 1900 Series 1921 Integrated Services Router IOS-15.7

Hi Guys,

I am a student and I am planning to buy Cisco 1900 Series 1921 Integrated Services Router IOS-15.7 in ebay to create my own small lab. so I can practice. My question is would you recommend this purchase?

thanks 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Matt Wilson
Level 1
Level 1

The 1921 is good but I prefer the 1941. It has 3 x EHWIC slots into which you can put an 1 x EHWIC-8ESG to use as a L2 switch. This is double-wide. The 2 x inbuilt gigabit ethernet ports are both L3 so you get the best of both worlds. With a switch you can then do router on a stick configs. The spare slot you can put an EHWIC-VA-DSL in for the internet. In my 1941 I was able to put a generic 2GB ECC memory module to up the RAM from 512MB.

The EHWIC-8ESG-P also allows for PoE so you can power up access points etc.

Make sure you get one with the security plus licence. That way you'll be able to learn zone-based firewalling and other security stuff.

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Matt Wilson
Level 1
Level 1

The 1921 is good but I prefer the 1941. It has 3 x EHWIC slots into which you can put an 1 x EHWIC-8ESG to use as a L2 switch. This is double-wide. The 2 x inbuilt gigabit ethernet ports are both L3 so you get the best of both worlds. With a switch you can then do router on a stick configs. The spare slot you can put an EHWIC-VA-DSL in for the internet. In my 1941 I was able to put a generic 2GB ECC memory module to up the RAM from 512MB.

The EHWIC-8ESG-P also allows for PoE so you can power up access points etc.

Make sure you get one with the security plus licence. That way you'll be able to learn zone-based firewalling and other security stuff.

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame