cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 2800 ADSL Failover

parmstrong5
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, am having trouble trying to setup a 2800 series router as a failover device (please bear in mind that I am fairly new to IOS).

The device has two ADSL modules installed which will be used as a direct connection to the ADSL lines rather than go through a seperate modem.

I am looking for the config so I am able to connect to either connection and should the primary connection fail the secondary connect takes over.

I have been trying to configure this on and off for a while however am struggling even to get the router to successfully connect to the ISP.                

33 Replies 33

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Often asked had you searched before asking.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk648/tk361/technologies_configuration_example09186a0080950834.shtml

Firts have that working , then you can move to the redundacy part, that is often asked here as well.

Note IOS is not easy and not apt for beginners, better would be if youse an RV series routers.

Paolo,

I am happy to help the gentleman to get it working even though the topic has been discussed here several times.

Best regards,

Peter

Peter Paluch wrote:

Paolo,

I am happy to help the gentleman to get it working even though the topic has been discussed here several times.

Best regards,

Peter

No problem, but is worth for anyone to know that the matter is the subject already of many great documents and answers.

Hi Paolo,

No doubt about that.

It's just that we - as people representing the CSC and all its expertise, courtesy and willingness to help others by which it is considered one of the finest voluntary forums around - should not fall back to RTFM kind of answers, though sometimes it really looks like we are. No one is helped by that approach.