cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 2800 ADSL Failover

parmstrong5
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, am having trouble trying to setup a 2800 series router as a failover device (please bear in mind that I am fairly new to IOS).

The device has two ADSL modules installed which will be used as a direct connection to the ADSL lines rather than go through a seperate modem.

I am looking for the config so I am able to connect to either connection and should the primary connection fail the secondary connect takes over.

I have been trying to configure this on and off for a while however am struggling even to get the router to successfully connect to the ISP.                

33 Replies 33

Hello Mithun,

You are welcome. No harm was done, and I also sincerely hope I did not offend you.

I am well aware that the three commands mentioned above would not cause any harm (apart from ip mtu 1492 which would cause unnecessary fragmentation). Then again, those are commands I see again and again in recommended configurations simply because they once got into examples somewhere at Cisco website and there was nobody to fix them. Even if a command does not do any harm, you ascribe a certain meaning to that command, and when you try to reuse the command in a different environment hoping it does what you think it does, you may end up being surprised very unpleasantly. That is one of the reasons I am always vouching for a very clean configuration free of commands that have no usefulness.

Best regards,

Peter

Hi Peter (thanks for the massive help so far, believe we can see light at the end of the tunnel).

Fixed the DHCP pool error and am now able to get traffic moving between the computer and the Internet through the Dialer1 connection.

However when trying the Dialer2 alone it does not allow any data past the router.

Tried a tracert as requested on the working connection went through 16 stops.