Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 867VAE drops connection on DHCP lease timeout

itservicesyd
Level 1
Level 1

Hey!

We have a very annoying problem on our hands. I'm no IOS expert, but I make do.

We've got a Telia DSL connection that has a 20 minute DHCP lease timer. Every 20 minutes when it shakes hand again, the connection drops for about 5 seconds. This because the Cisco thinks that administratively shutting down the interface is a good idea....

How do I stop this behavior? I've tried manually setting

<ip dhcp client lease 1 0 0>

(for 1 day lease) but it completely disregards that.

Best would obviously be to stop it shutting down the interface every time, but worst case scenario I'll take a solution with a longer DHCP lease since the address rarely changes.

<snip from log>

*Aug  1 01:44:43.514 PCTime: %DHCP-6-ADDRESS_ASSIGN: Interface ATM0.1 assigned DHCP address 81.230.xxx.xx, mask 255.255.255.0, hostname elsa

*Aug  1 02:04:48.498 PCTime: %DHCP-5-RESTART: Interface ATM0.1 is being restarted by DHCP

*Aug  1 02:04:56.106 PCTime: %DHCP-6-ADDRESS_ASSIGN: Interface ATM0.1 assigned DHCP address 81.230.xxx.xx, mask 255.255.255.0, hostname elsa

*Aug  1 02:25:01.050 PCTime: %DHCP-5-RESTART: Interface ATM0.1 is being restarted by DHCP

</snip>

It's running firmware

c860vae-ipbasek9-mz.153-2

I'm attaching the current running-config as well.

Thank you in advance!

Best Regards

Daniel

22 Replies 22

Hi there, yes i forgot to update that I had the same issue. i had a static NAT port forwarding everything, including the DHCP responses from the ISP.

However, what I could not get to work was to have a static NAT portforwarding everything, together with a static NAT only portforwarding the DHCP responses... The NAT forwarding everything always took precidence.

If you manage to get this working, please let me know.

thanks

Mario

Could you post your config