Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 877 Router Woes

MarPar
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All!

I am having 877 woes (I know the 877 is old and outdated, but it worked for me. Until it didn't lol). It is a long and sorted tale, but I will try and make it as short and detailed as possible. First off, I am a novice when it comes to networking and IT, so please excuse me if I do not use the proper terminology, but I do know enough to be dangerous. lol

The tale starts off with lightning hitting my building at work-the transformers specifically. They got replaced and the hunt was on to see what got fried. Now, all of my electronic components are on surge suppressors/APC battery backups, but it appears as the one for the router and modem malfunctioned.

I can see the router on LAN1 through my network through the CP Express telnet utility, but my modem cannot see it from any of the three other ports and if I change my network cable from lan1 to any of the other ports my network cannot see the router. So that tells me 3 of the 4 (#2-4) LAN ports are fried on the router.

Comcast came and replaced the old modem as the four LAN ports on it were fried as well. The tech could not get into the old modem to copy the config and for the life of me I cannot find the backup config for it . I do not remember if I had my own config on it to start, but i do not think so. The modem works as I can get internet on my laptop through the modem's wireless network.