Views
Helpful
Replies

Exempt src and/or dst thru GRE tunnel

lhalca
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

This is my first time posting in this forum, so i hope im in the correct discussion area.

I am looking for guidance on how to -

#1. Exempt host(s) from filtering thru the GRE tunnel?

#2. Only exempt hosts(s) from filtering thru the GRE tunnel when its destination is a specific website only? If possible?

I have the GRE tunnel up and running and in order to exempt specific IPs, i saw examples online to do it within the ACL, but its not working for me.

Below, im trying to exempt the host 10.1.1.2

Here's the ACL i have:

deny tcp host 10.1.1.2 any eq www
deny tcp host 10.1.1.2 any eq 443
permit tcp 10.1.1.0 0.0.0.255 any eq www
permit tcp 10.1.1.0 0.0.0.255 any eq 443

Then i tried doing it this way, but still didnt work:

deny ip any host 10.1.1.2

permit tcp 10.1.1.0 0.0.0.255 any eq www
permit tcp 10.1.1.0 0.0.0.255 any eq 443

I'm trying different ways, but can't get pass question#1, so i can proceed to #2.

Is doing this in the ACL correct in the first place? or is there another way within the GRE Tunnel?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you,

lha

7 Replies 7

luis_cordova
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @lhalca ,

Your ACLs look correct
Maybe your problem lies in where you are applying the ACL and in what direction (in/out).

If it is a PacketTracer exercise, i suggest you compress it to be able to attach it.
So, we could review and test with your current settings.

Regards

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

I am not clear about what is the real objective in the original post. The post has its first point as "Exempt host(s) from filtering thru the GRE tunnel"

What does filtering mean? Does it mean simply not go through the GRE tunnel? Or does it mean something else?

And what does "exempt" mean? Does it mean that traffic matching the criteria should be dropped? Or does it mean that it should not go through GRE tunnel but should be able to go some other way?