Views
Helpful
Replies

Help me in BGP concepts

Amr Ali
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

I hope every one in a good condition , kindly i need an assistance as i am a beginner in CCNP routing so i need to understand many of things , i have uploaded a topology made by GNS3 which had done by me but i need to understand why R1 can't ping R5

Thanks for Help

19 Replies 19

By default, intra-area and inter-area routes are redistributed when doing redistribution, so in order to get everything (external routes), you specify external type-1 and external -type 2. "Match internal" matches inter and intra area routes which is the default.

Redistribute bgp 5500 subnets tells ospf to redistribute bgp routes from the as 5500. The "subnets" keyword tells OSPF to pull all routes even if not classful. By default, it will only redistribute classful subnets.

HTH,
John

*** Please rate all useful posts ***

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

thanks john for help

This is the rest of my post as i need to understand these notes" plus  i need to understand why i must provide BGP  with another routing  protocol like OSPF or EIGRP to complete routing  & i need to know  when i must use cmd # Network at BGP & cmd #  Neighbour & the difference bet. them & why we have used cmd #  Network at R5 only and didn't use it at any other router "

Thanks for your time & Help

Regards - amr

"i need to understand why i must provide BGP  with another routing  protocol like OSPF or EIGRP to complete routing"