Views
Helpful
Replies

How do router listen to BGP on TCP port 179

snadkarni
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am studying BGP and learnt that it uses TCP port 179 to form TCP connections with peer routers. My question is, since routers are layer 3 devices, how can they listen on TCP port 179 and form TCP connection?

Any clarification on this will be highly appreciated.

Thank you.

6 Replies 6

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello snadkarni,

routers are layer 3 devices but the router main cpu implements a full TCP/IP stack for example we can telnet or SSH to them.

Telnet uses TCP 23.

SSH uses TCP 22.

Similarly most routing protocols use some form of L4 encapsulation

RIP uses UDP port 520

EIGRP is protocol 88 over IP

OSPF is protocol 89 over IP.

so listening to TCP port 179 is not an issue for routers as control plane messages are processed by main cpu TCP/IP stack.

Usually, BGP sessions can be formed only with manually configured BGP peers.

The BGP peer must use the expected source address, the expected destination address and must declare to belong to the BGP AS number configured on the local router.

So the router will open the TCP 179 port only on the local address used for the BGP session.

The local address can be different for different BGP sessions: a loopback address for iBGP sessions and the border interface(s) for eBGP sessions.

Hope to help

Giuseppe