cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

I need help with the basic configuration on my cisco 892-k9 router

brianwbyrd
Level 1
Level 1

I am not a network engineer and this is the first Cisco router that I have purchased. I found it on Amazon for a really good price and bought it. I plugged it in and realized that none of the ports were active, except for the WAN ports. The version that I have has two WAN ports and the following LAN ports: 1 Gb port and seven 100 Mb ports. The router is capable of running multiple VLAN's as well as POE. But I am going to use this as a home router with two WIFI routers hardwired into the router. One for the first floor and one for the third floor.

My goal is to set up one vlan using the 1 Gb WAN port with all of the LAN ports and reasonable settings on the firewall to keep out the riff raf. I may want to open an ssh port and possibly a http/https proxy that would allow me to use my home network for internet remotely. But mostly I just want the basic setup for now.

I happen to have a DEC VT340 with the proper serial cable that I can use to connect my terminal to the console. So I have console using the VT340. I spent most of Sunday working on trying to get a basic setup and managed to create a VLAN, called VLAN0, with all of the ports, but I can't get the VLAN to start and turn on the LAN ports. I also want the router to provide DHCP. Any help with doing the basic configuration would be great. I can reset the router to default if that would be easier.

Ultimately I want to get this thing working before my wife makes me send it back.

Thanks in advance.

Brian

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Is the router connected to one of the FastEthernet ports or to Gi0 ?

Something is connected to Fa7 and leased an address.

What port is your PC connected to? The port config looks good and the DHCP is clearly functioning...

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Brian,