cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Im a noobie and need help with 1841 and wics please ?

mcbosher71
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all ...

I am totally new to the ciso smb devices like the 1841 etc and thought to upgrade my work router to the 1841 ( but it has 2 x wic adsl`s in it ) that i do not want as im trying to find out the wic i would need for this router to hook my network up to a RJ45 internet conection ( not adsl )

Ive not had much time to look around but i have managed a bit and this is the best place by far.

Please be gentle with me .. he he

Thanks in advance for your time.

4 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You really have not explained what's your objective ?

View solution in original post

None, the 1841 has two Fasthernet ports, one connects to ISP, the other to your internal network.

However I recommend you don't try t configure the router by yourself as it is not a consumer device like home router, rather engage a professional consultant or certified cisco partner, that will save you much headache.

Hi Garry,

Threre's no FE0/2 port on a Cisco 1841. You could interchangeably use FE0/0 and FE0/1 ports either for your WAN or LAN connection. Also, are you sure this is for a broadband connection? AFAIK, it uses RJ11 port.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

Hi Garry,

I get it now. Yes, RJ45 for both WAN and LAN connections. It's up to you how to assign the FE ports as mentioned.

7 Replies 7

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You really have not explained what's your objective ?

Hi and thank you...

I want to use the router to handle the broadband connection which is on a rj45 connection not adsl but my router bought used has 2 x wic adsl cards and i know that i do not need them as i do not have adsl its a virgin connection.