cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS (Pop tag, stacked label, LSP, FEC) ??

jaighobahi
Level 1
Level 1

Hello People,

I am studying EIGRP configurations and verifications and I come accross a sub topic on EIGRP Over MPLS.  I take this to mean that I need to understand the rudiments of MPLS in order to be able to configure EIGRP over it.  However, I do not know MPLS.  I am trying to read materials on MPLS, but the topic has been rather intractable and frustrating.

I have attached a Microsoft Word document containing the first few areas of confusion.  Please, oblige me with your comments.

Thanks.

5 Replies 5

it will be good if you copy0paste the quarries directly on the portal.

\from your doc I tried to ans the qus as much I can, but yes they are many ways to explain so actually it depends on you in-terms of what you understands. Below are the remarks:

Please, I need clarifications on the following:

1. How is the label stack formed with respect to my network diagram above?

[ans] since you are simulating communication from RA to RB, so just assume (like we did in physics classes i.e. let’s assume a variable x and bla .. bla) what R3 does when attached to network.  In MPLS network, the LSP formation is actually in reverse to the traffic flow. Here R1 knows about the network 172.x.x.x and he advertise to R2 that he (R1) can reach 172.x.x.x and if R2 want to reach 172.x.x.x then he (R2) has to attach a label of 15 (outgoing tag of R2) and send the packet from R2 to R1. Same is applicable from R3 to R2 as well.

1. Under which condition is more than one label pushed onto the label stack?

[ans] there are 3-4 ways.

If you are using VRFs then an additional label is attached (inside the MPLS label which you know in above example). It will be looked only when outer label is removed

1. Under which condition does the pop operation take place?