Helpful
Replies

MPLS routes to advertise from CE to PE

j44mistry
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to MPLS and requirements.  

We have a new MPLS circuit being deployed between two sites. 

The ISP has asked me for what Routing Protocol , AS number and any LAN subnets I want to be advertise on CE Router.

Our Customer Router will be running EIGRP and is going to advertise 10.136.16.0/20 and 10.130.0.0 for VPN tunnels already.

So far I have told ISP that routers will need to be running BGP AS65001 on both CE routers at Site A and B.

What LAN routes need to be advertised from CE router ?  

I am hoping to have GRE VPN tunnels initiate from customer router.

Please see attached diagram.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Apologies but I didn't read your question carefully enough.

If you are going to be using GRE tunnels (not sure why ?) then you don't need to advertise all local subnets to MPLS.

You just need to advertise the GRE end points ie. you need reachability between the routers terminating the GRE tunnels and then you can simply advertise the local subnets with EIGRP across the tunnel.

Jon

View solution in original post

23 Replies 23

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You need to advertise each sites local subnets from the CE router.

So on the CE router if you are using BGP to peer with the PE then you either use network statements under your BGP configuration or you redistribute EIGRP into BGP.

Note also on each CE you also need to redistribute BGP back into EIGRP as well.

Are you going to be using the same AS number at each site ?

Jon

Hi Jon,

We need GRE Tunnels to keep our data secure. 

So interms of the diagram I need to advertise 10.136.16.0/20 and Tunnel Network which 10.130.0.0 ?   or are you saying with GRE I dont ? 

Is it better to use static or BGP routing in CPE routers ?

Yes my BGP is rusty does AS number need to be same of different ?

Regards,