Views
Helpful
Replies

MTU/MSS confguration for Tunnel link across Encryption Devices

Kgrevemberg
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm in need of some expert help. We have an encrypted link that is having some major fragmenting issues.

I'm not an expert on this and want to learn more about it but don't have the luxury of time to fix this issue as its holding up production in a big way.

Here is a basic picture of the setup. Can anyone help with mtu sizes I should set on my encryption devices, physical interfaces, and tunnel interfaces? And also mss size if necessary, I'm still learning this stuff so I'm just not sure.

I can try my best to answer any questions.

Thanks for any and all advice.mtu_size.png

13 Replies 13

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Can you post the exiting configuration, have you tested using extend ping to see what is supported MTU have better ping success ?

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

The configs are on secret devices so it would take some time to get them posted after screening but possible if you need them.

I can answer any questions you would like to ask.

If I send a df-bit ping from one end to the other it fragments after 1424.

Is that what you mean?

Thanks for your reply

yes that is the way to test or configure as below

ip mtu 1400

ip tcp-adjust mss 1360

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

do you recommend I change the mtu of the cypher/plan text devices?

Hello,

Cisco recommends an MTU of 1400 (and MSS of 1360), these values cover most setups. I agree with Balaji that we would need to see your configs first, but if you are using tunnel interfaces, configure:

interface tunnel 0

ip mtu 1400

ip tcp-adjust mss 1360

on both ends.

my physical encryption devices have a space for mtu size as well. Do you recommend I change them also? they are at 1500 by default.