Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New UK BT MPLS network issues

Hi,

I am relatively new to the Cisco world and have been tasked with setting up a BT MPLS network! Yipee!

I am in a position where I have the head office router configured, and a branch router able to ping our head office resources through our Watchguard firewall, progress!

I have now hit a stumbling block whereby I don't know how to allow branch office devices (only 1-2 desktop PC's and a VOIP phone) to connect to our head office resources.MPLS, BT, Routing, Subnets

Branch office routers are Cisco ISR 877VA's with 4 FA interfaces which I will be using to connect the various devices.

MPLS Dialler interface has been configured with an IP address of 10.1.2.1, this appears to be the only way I can announce the network into MPLS. If I set on loopback interfaces, I cannot get out to the head office router so I think this is the correct configuration, no assist or working configs from BT so working blind.

BT will only route the 10.1.2.0/24 subnet for this particular branch, if I try to use NAT, it will not carry across the MPLS network and gets dropped in the MPLS circuit.

If I try and set VLAN 1 (for the branch local network) to anything in the 10.x range, I get an "overlap" error message from the router.

So essentially, my local branch devices need to belong to the 10.1.2.x/24 network which is the same as the dialler interface network. Is this achievable?

BT are a nightmare to get hold of, let alone work with me on this allowed subnets, so my options are limited!

Any advise would be much appreciated. Please go easy on me, i'm new!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello

martin.daley@eventura.com wrote:

Hi,

BT will only route the 10.1.2.0/24 subnet for this particular branch, if I try to use NAT, it will not carry across the MPLS network and gets dropped in the MPLS circuit.