cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF confusion about routes

willmaci
Level 1
Level 1

I'm currently studying for my CCNA and just had a little bit of confusion when it comes to OSPF and setting it up. 

Here would be the scenario

10.16.0.10/24     10.16.0.0/24         172.168.1.1/29          10.16.8.0/24            10.16.8.10/24 

PC1 <----->  Router1   <------>   Router 2   <---->     Router 3    <---->          PC2

Sorry if this doesn't have all the info in regards to connectivity, but I can tell you that PC1 and PC2 can ping each other with no issues. 

My question is, if I configure the Routers with these ospf statements

R1: network 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 area 0

R3: network 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 area 0

How does OSPF not get confused into where to route the traffic? If I break down the ospf statements as I understand it:

R1 is saying "I can route any network whose first octet is 10 since my wildcard mask is set to 0 on the first octet" 

R2 is saying the same thing. 

Why do these statements not conflict? Is it because of the CEF table and the routers knowing which hosts it is connected to? Or could these statement possibly conflict with each other if my network gets big enough?

Thank you in advance for helping me with my confusion!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello @willmaci ,

in OSPFv2 the network ..... area command tells to the router what interfaces should take part in the OSPF process.

So a statement like:

network 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 area 0

does not create a route 10.0.0.0/8 to be advertised to anyone.

The statement is used like an IP ACL and the router takes the list of currently configured L3 interfaces and if the address of the interface matches the network statement for example

interface gi0/0/0

ip address 10.12.255.128 255.255.255.128

this interface will be one where OSPF in area 0 will run and it will send out OSPF hellos and it will try to build OSPF neighborships over it.