Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF Questions

Craddockc
Level 3
Level 3

Dear Community,

I am studying for the CCNP ROUTE exam hoping to pass it before the Feb deadline and had a couple of questions about OSPF operations that I was hoping you could help me out with:

1) How exactly does the router use the received Router LSA to build its OSPF tree and subsequently select the best possible route to put into the RT? I know the LSA includes all kinds of info, but at the end of the day what it really seems to boil down to is the metric right? Since OSPF calculates the cost based on incremented path bandwidth, what is the point of the router knowing about the other fields in the LSA like Link Type or even the RID of the originating router? These fields don't seem to really serve any purpose for path calculation, at least to me they dont.

2) What is the purpose of the Network LSA that the DR advertises? Why do the other routers on the multi-access network need to be explicitly told about what other routers are fully adjacent to the DR? I cant figure why thats important to the other routers.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello.

As you know, OSPF is link state protocol. Every link state protocol based on the rule, that all routers in the same area should have same view of the network topology. Every link state protocol based on graph theory and specially on Dijkstra's algorithm. Graph is way to model pairwise relations between objects. So, somehow, each router in the area should draw network topology.