Views
Helpful
Replies

PIM Sparse FHR packet duplication in Register Message and Natively

sarahr202
Level 5
Level 5

Hi everyone,

I have decided to tackle multicast that I have been avoiding for many years.

Here is my first thread :

Scenario#1  PIM SPARSE MODE  

Please consider the following design for PIM SPARSE MODE:

CISCO-MULTICAST-SCENARIOS.PNG

Source is not sending any STREAM at 235.1.1.1 at the moment, we can see (*,235.1.1.1) has been built at RP:

R3#show ip mroute

(*, 235.1.1.1), 00:02:20/00:03:07, RP 23.23.23.3, flags: S
Incoming interface: Null, RPF nbr 0.0.0.0
Outgoing interface list:
FastEthernet1/0, Forward/Sparse, 00:02:20/00:03:07

This is what i noticed:

1)FHR takes multicast packet received from SOURCE , (10.10.10.10  235.1.1.1and make two copies of the packet. It sends one in REGISTER MESSAGE, and the other natively i.e without any tunnel encapsulation towards RP.

Below Capture is taken between FHR and R2 to demonstrate Multicast Stream are transmitted in REGISTER Message  and NATIVELY

CISCO-QUESTION.PNG

1)Focusing only on this natively transmitted packet , why does FHR  make copy and transmit the packet natively?

I mean, FHR can continue to transmit in REGISTER message only until it receives REGISTER STOP and (S,G) Join from down stream PIM router R2 .

I also noticed:

2) When PIM neighbor relationship establishes, PIM enabed router  does not know if its neighbor is running SPARSE or DENSE mode, as I I do not see any such INFO communicated in PIM Hello.

Thoughts?

Have a nice weekend!!

10 Replies 10

Hi sarahr202,

"1)FHR takes multicast packet received from SOURCE , (10.10.10.10  235.1.1.1and make two copies of the packet. It sends one in REGISTER MESSAGE, and the other natively i.e without any tunnel encapsulation towards RP."

"1)Focusing only on this natively transmitted packet , why does FHR  make copy and transmit the packet natively?