Views
Helpful
Replies

Routers Configuration

Oz1
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

I have a quick question. I'm new to cisco packet tracer and not very good at configuring the routers and switch with each other... (Is it possible to connect 4 routers with one switch? ) For example For Router A ( the IP 202.120.8.1 255.255.255.240 ) For router b ( the IP 202.120.8.2 255.255.255.240) Router C (the IP 202.120.8.3 255.255.255.240) which VLAN and what IP address subnet mask and default-gateway  I should use in switch to do the trunking with all the routers. So, it can ping successfully

looking forward for a reply!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The switch should be able to interact with the directly connected routers if you provide it a SVI on the same VLAN that hosts the routers and a host IP on that network. (NB: BTW, Packet Tracer is always a bit of a crapshoot, what works or not. I.e. a valid configuration on real devices might not work on it.) Also BTW, again, you probably want to avoid using the network address as a host IP,

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
If all your routers are on the same subnet, you can attach each to an access port, where all ports are configured with the same VLAN.

I tried to use VLAN 99 with IP address 202.120.8.0 255.255.255.240 and assign VLAN 99 to those specific ports which are connected to routers. But unfortunately, still failed to ping

Ping what - from one router to another? Or from between switch and router(s)?

What "model" switch are you using? If it's a L3 switch, is it configured for L2 or L3?

The scenario is like this (given in the picture) Pinf grom RA to RC AND RA RB (The 2960-24TT switch is between these three routers...

Router D takes a bit more work to integrate. We can get into that after you get your switch and the other routers to be able to ping each other.