Views
Helpful
Replies

routing problem, noob

rick_serafin
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone,

i am very new to Cisco products and am I having a bit of trouble with the router we have here (2621xm). So my problem is that I cant seem to ping or tracert from one network to another, for example i have fa 0/0 ip add 192.168.4.1 & fa 0/1 ip add 192.168.3.1. Now I can ping all the pc´s from fa 0/1 that have that 3 network and the same applies to fa 0/0 for 4 network and fa 0/0 and 0/1 can ping each other but i am not able to ping for example 192.168.3.20(client) to 192.168.4.100(snmp server) or vice versa. so any and all help would be much apreciated to solve this problem.

btw this is a project I was asked to do because I am an apprentice and now I have some months of practical training ahead of me and will be using this and a Cisco switch for a project that will be graded as the practical part of my end exam for this apprenticeship.

thank you for your help

Rick Serafin

6 Replies 6

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Rick,

A nice Packet Tracer snapshot you have

What I lack is a clear and concise description of the IP addressing and the interface descriptions in your exhibit. What surprises me, for example, is that on the upper interface of the lower 2621XM router you have servers from both 192.168.1.0/24 and 192.168.4.0/24 network - a bad design if they are both placed on a single (V)LAN. Moreover, I do not know what is the IP network used to interconnect the two routers and what is the network on the upper 2621XM router towards the cloud.

If you are modelling this in PT you could post the PT file here. Please note, however, that I am not going to solve it completely for you because if this is a part of your training, you should be capable of doing it all by yourself. I am going to give you some hints, though.

Best regards,

Peter

Thank you for the quick reply Peter,