Views
Helpful
Replies

Routing

ccrank
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I am new to networking and I'm sure that will be apparent by this question. In one of my classes we have been asked to put together this network(see attached). I have connected everything and assigned IP addresses. I have a server and two computers all using different gateways on the router.

I don't understand how I am supposed to make all of these reachable without a switch. Any hints?

PC1_TestNetwork
NIC1
PC2_TestNetwork
NIC1
Server_TestNetwork
NIC1
Router_TestNetwork
FastEthernet0/0
FastEthernet0/1
FastEthernet1/0
n/a

Thanks for any advice,

Chris

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

If you show the arp table on the PC does it have an entry for the router?

If you show the arp table on the router does it have entries for he PCs?

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

17 Replies 17

luis_cordova
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @ccrank 

In this case, the router will do the job of routing the hosts from one network to another network.
You can check that they will be routed by checking the routing table with the show ip route command

Regards

Hi Luis,

When I run show ip route, I get this:

C     192.168.1.0/24 is directly connected fa0/0

C     192.168.2.0/24 is directly connected fa0/1

C     192.168.3.0/24 is directly connected fa1/0

If I try to ping any devices all I get is host unreachable. I guess I don't understand what I am missing.

Hi

Can you share the router settings?
Everything looks good, but I would like to review.

Regards

I'm not sure how I can do that. I am working inside of a VM through InfoSec.com. If you tell me what command to run, I can show you a screenshot of that. Does that work?

Hi 

The settings look ok.
Have you made sure that the firewalls of the simulated PCs are down?
Sometimes fw blocks ping from external networks.
Another option is to try another simulator.

Regards

The command to check the configurations of a router is show running-config