cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Shaping outbound traffic per device for large group of devices

mark.tegg
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks, I am fairly new to the world of QoS. Although I have a basic understanding of what it is, I don't have any real experience in implementing it in production network in anger. I have a new requirement for a guest network service. The users will be using this as outbound internet access service. I would like to limit the bandwidth per user to a specified rate. Searches have returned results that are appear suitable for the task.

The issue I have is that I want to offer each user equal bandwidth, but there are potentially >36000 unique IP addresses (mostly contiguous blocks) and I am wondering if there are an equivalent of a range statement usable to define the policy (save every IP needing to exist in policy) 

I'm wondering if anyone can shine some light as to how I can configure my routers to achieve this requirement with the minimal configuration required.

I am assuming I need to use ACLs to do the QoS/Policing/Shaping?

3 Replies 3

Hello

@mark.tegg wrote:

I would like to limit the bandwidth per user to a specified rate. Searches have returned results that are appear suitable for the task.

The issue I have is that I want to offer each user equal bandwidth, but there are potentially >36000 unique IP addresses (mostly contiguous blocks) the minimal configuration required.

Qos is required when you possibly expect to have over utilization of your network bandwidth resulting in packet loss or delay meaning when congestion isnt incurred QOS really isn't required.

Given the amount of users you are stating it would be more viable to allocate a pre-defined guest BW value for all guest users and then police or share that BW between the various subnets of your guest users.

Can you elaborate on your current network topology and what type of hardware (router/fw/switch/access-points etc..) you are ruining?