cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

site-to-site VPN using Cisco ASA with two routers (HSRP)

Louey
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

You can see my topology on the file picture. 

I will say i am a beginner and i want to make a site-to-site VPN with two Cisco ASA (Active/standby) using Failover. The NAT will be done on Firewalls

I need also to keep a redundant gateway for my internal network so i decided to use two routers with HSRP before the ASAs (this is the cricital point for me).

Please, anyone can tell me if my topology is correct or not, also if i can optimize it.

My second question is that my internal network contains two http servers, what can i use (on this topology or an optimized one) to load balance on those two servers.

Thank you in advance

Louey

6 Replies 6

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Personally i do not see an requirement for Router here for only GW redundancy (until you doing anything else here in this devices)

1. You can have stack the 2960 for the hardware redundency.

2. you already have HA pair for the FW for redundancy to falover.

3. Load-balance Web Service you need any Load balancers for this work. (or you can do DNS load-balance to test - but not as good as Loadbalancer.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hello Balaji,

Thank you for your answer.

But you mean having the 2 FW on failover as a default gateway ? I think
that hsrp is not possible on cisco ASA, so what would be the GW of my
servers ?
If the GW is the active FW interface, what would happen if this interface
is down, i think that the standby FW will be active, but the default GW
still the first on my servers.

BR

LOUEY

Hello,

actually, your design looks by the book. The ASA cannot do any LAN redundancy, so you need something like HSRP or GLBP. GLBP might actually be the better option, check if your routers support it.