cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Static Default Route Pointing to Non-Adjacent IP

MattMH
Level 1
Level 1

I am getting ready to lab this up, but I do not understand how this works (but is). Thought I'd seek some opinions first.

I have a router (a bunch of them) that has a static default route to an IP in a subnet that it is not connected (8 hops away). There is no ARP entry for the configured default route IP address. We are running EIGRP, fyi, with no redistribution of any default routes. Everything is static. 

I am new at my current company, so reluctant to change anything yet, but I had an opportunity, when trying to resolve some issues to remove that static route (thinking that maybe there was static route redistribution happening). After I removed it, as expected, it did not learn any default route and I coudn't get to the Internet. I could get to LAN/WAN resources, but nothing off the network. I added the static route back in (the IP 8 hops away), and Internet access was restored. No VPN's. Simple WAN network design. When tracerouting, I see the path I'd expect to see as far as the first few hops, but I am not sure how it learns what IP to route through considering the default route IP has to be learned from the routing table, unless that is how it works. Does it somehow figure out that the static default route is learned via EIGRP on X interface and then routes in that direction (just thought this through typing it out)?

Thanks!

11 Replies 11

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi there,

What you describe is caused by recursive routing. Typically a static route would have a next-hop specified that is on a directly connected subnet, typically resolved with ARP. However you can specify a next-hop that is not directly connected. The router will then have to perform a route look-up to reach this next-hop, this process is called recursion. Incidentally, this is default behaviour in IOS, but on a juniper you must explicitly enable it.

cheers,

Seb.