cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

STP spanning tree what did my network admin do?

cts_55
Level 1
Level 1

I'm relatively new to large-level networking, setting up a new vlan to be distributed on my network.
I have a loop of 5 c2960x switches all connected on a 10G fiber backbone and SFP+ ports, 1&2 are stacked, the rest in a loop.

1&2

/      \

5          3

\      /

show running-config/startup-config for each of the switches has the identically same lines in it

spanning-tree mode pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id
spanning-tree vlan 2,12,110,170 priority 24576
!
vlan internal allocation policy ascending

I am adding vlan 160 to the network, and have successfully done so PROVIDED that I severed the link between switch 1 and switch 5, so

interface TenGigabitEthernet1/0/1
 description uplink c2960x-4 port Te 1/0/1
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 2,12,110,160,170
 switchport trunk native vlan 999
 switchport mode trunk
 switchport nonegotiate
!
interface TenGigabitEthernet1/0/2
 description uplink c2960x-1 port Te 2/0/2
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 2,12,110,170
 switchport trunk native vlan 999
 switchport mode trunk
 switchport nonegotiate
!

Now, I read some things but I'm having a hard time discerning which command is allocating the root switch. For some reason, the readout for c2960x-3 is

C2960X-3#show spanning-tree summary
Switch is in pvst mode
Root bridge for: VLAN0005, VLAN0010, VLAN0100, VLAN0147, VLAN0160
EtherChannel misconfig guard            is enabled
Extended system ID                      is enabled
Portfast Default                        is disabled
Portfast Edge BPDU Guard Default        is disabled
Portfast Edge BPDU Filter Default       is disabled
Loopguard Default                       is disabled
PVST Simulation Default                 is enabled but inactive in pvst mode
Bridge Assurance                        is enabled but inactive in pvst mode