Views
Helpful
Replies

Two ABRs between two OSPF areas for redundancy

Kaushik Ray
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I would like to know if it is possible to put two ABRs between two OSPF areas for redundancy purposes. I am just new to OSPF and would be grateful if someone can share their views on this or pass on any document which explains advantages and disadvantages of such a setup.

Many Thanks in advance

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

JohnTylerPearce
Level 7
Level 7

Yes this is completely possible.You mainly do this load balancing and redundancy

Sent from Cisco Technical Support Android App

View solution in original post

There are some resources that suggest that to simplify OSPF that you have only a single ABR per area. And some discussions of OSPF stub and totally stub suggest having a single ABR for an OSPF area. I do not agree with these. I believe that any OSPF area with a single ABR is an OSPF area with a significant single point of failure. I advocate that OSPF area should have at least two ABR.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

JohnTylerPearce
Level 7
Level 7

Yes this is completely possible.You mainly do this load balancing and redundancy

JohnTylerPearce
Level 7
Level 7

Just remember the costs will run the same way, as with only one ABR, but with one exception if the ABRs are connected by non backbone links they will prefer the most direct path to Area O always.

There are some resources that suggest that to simplify OSPF that you have only a single ABR per area. And some discussions of OSPF stub and totally stub suggest having a single ABR for an OSPF area. I do not agree with these. I believe that any OSPF area with a single ABR is an OSPF area with a significant single point of failure. I advocate that OSPF area should have at least two ABR.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer