cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

two bgp routers to one isp

DARYLE DIANIS
Level 1
Level 1

i'm very new to bgp and would like any suggestions to configure ibgp to prefer one router over another.  I know there may be load sharing solutions, but for now, I have 1 router with 200mmbps link and a second router with a 50mbps, both in the same ASN, both going to the same provider  and I would like BGP to use the 200mbps link only, maybe use the 50mbps for failover.  This is iBGP and MPLS.  Any suggestions or links to some docs would be great.

thanks

4 Replies 4

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

How will you route to your two eBGP routers?

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

There are quite a few ways to do this and you don't necessarily need IBGP. Some examples -

1) if the routers are the default gateways for clients then you can make the primary router the HSRP active although with this you do need to use tracking in case there is a falure upstream

2) if the default gateway for the clients is a L3 switch(es) connected to the routers then you have multiple options ie.

a) redistribute the BGP learned routes into an IGP and influence the metrics so the primary router is preferred eg. -

with EIGRP you could use offset lists or a delay on the connection to the backup router

with OSPF you could redistribute the routes as externa type E1s from the primary and E2s from the backup because OSPF always prefers E1s

b) run IBGP between the routers and the L3 switch(es)  and use either weight or local preference (depending on whether you have a single or multiple L3 switches) to influence the path.

Note stacked L3 switches or 4500/6500 running VSS can be treated as one switch

c) run IBGP just between the routers and use local preference to prefer the primary router. This could mean traffic being sent to the backup router only to then be sent back to the primary (and Joseph knows how i feel about that smiley).

But it is a valid choice.