cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Verifying routes are being filtered with route-maps and tagging.

Liam Kenneally
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All, 

I am looking for a redistribution wizard out there! 

I am currently studying my CCNP and have built a two-way redistribution topology with dual transit/redistribution routers. I have successfully redistributed routes from OSPF into EIGRP and visa-versa. I can verify the routes are tagged with the show ip route <NETWORK> command

The issue I am facing is how do I verify routes that I am filtering; I am using a route-map to stop routes that have been redistributed into OSPF from EIGRP bleeding back into OSPF. I am confident from the configuration my route map is doing the job; however how can I verify this. 

The show route-map <ROUTEMAPNAME> command counters will not increment as I believe these only come into play with PBR. So is thier a similar show command or even a debug I can use to verify this. For example if I walked into a production network and a route was not being seen how would I verify this. I hope this makes sence! Please see the topology and configurations below(If you are use/have used the CBT nuggets training, you may be familiar with this topology. 

Topology(Diagram)

** Cisco forums does not like google-drive urls; so I have uploaded a screenshot of the topology **

relevant config snippets

R2 

R2#sh run | s route-map
 redistribute ospf 1 route-map OSPF_TO_EIGRP
 redistribute eigrp 100 subnets route-map EIGRP_TO_OSPF
route-map EIGRP_TO_OSPF deny 5
 match tag 40
route-map EIGRP_TO_OSPF permit 10
 match ip address 1
 set metric 100
 set metric-type type-2
 set tag 10
route-map EIGRP_TO_OSPF permit 20
 match ip address 2
 set metric 200
 set metric-type type-2
 set tag 20
route-map EIGRP_TO_OSPF deny 30
 match ip address 3
route-map EIGRP_TO_OSPF permit 40
 set metric 300
 set metric-type type-2
 set tag 30
route-map OSPF_TO_EIGRP deny 5