Views
Helpful
Replies

Vlan and Inter-VLAN Routing

Thedentist
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all, 

i'm studying vlan and Inter-VLAN Routing.

I am following laboratories on this topic. The professor said that putting the native vlan between all the trunk switches makes sense, but it makes no sense to put it on the fa2 / 1 interface of switch 0. It gave as a rule that reads like this "the native vlan only makes sense between the two switches, while between switches and routers it doesn't make sense "
In that case obviously the connection is a "Router-on-a-stick" for inter-vlan.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello Thedentist,

>>

switchport mode trunk

switchport trunk native vlan 99

And i think is correct because the request say "for all network trunk"

Yes this is correct

>> Would it be correct, however, to insert the native on that inter-Vlan trunk(fa2/1 Switch0)? I did it and I had no connection problems, I wanted to know if the problem was conceptual or in any case it is useless to use it.

To allow native vlan 99 on the switch port to the router in the list of allowed Vlans has not impact.

Yes, the requirement is only conceptual as explained in previous posts by me and by Joseph is possible to use native vlan in a router in a stick scenario. Until you not define a router subif with

int fas0/0.99

enc dot1q 99 native

ip address

AND

you not define an IP address under the physical interface

THEN You are satisfying the requirement by your teacher.

On the other hand, if no routing service is required for Vlan 99 you are correct.

But I see

>> "Vlan 99 as managment VLAN and Native Vlan for all network trunks"

I think in a real world scenario, you would need routing services for Vlan 99 on the router to allow telnet/SSH to the switches from outside the vlan 99.