cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
411
Views
0
Helpful
2
Replies
Highlighted
Beginner

VTP Client updates VTP server after reload ?

Hi guys, I am trying to learn vtp, so I am using GNS3 for the simulation with two switches. I have built simple connection between two switches, configured trunk and vtp server / client modes. I was curious about this question.

What happens when I have both vtp client and server synchronized and I erase memory on vtp server and reload vtp server. From my understanding while learning for the certification I learned that client does not send any updates, does it ?

But I found out that after vtp server has rebooted and I set the domain name, suddenly all information from vtp client has been setup in vtp server. 

 

So from my understanding, vtp server can request information from vtp client and client can send that ? Or are there also any other conditions. 

 

Thanks.

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Beginner

Re: VTP Client updates VTP server after reload ?

This happened because of VTP configuration revision number. When you erased the configuration from servers and rebooted it, its configuration revision number reset to 0 and after coming back, It received the information from client with higher configuration revision number and synchronized the same.  Thanks

Highlighted
Enthusiast

Re: VTP Client updates VTP server after reload ?