cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Which is better for 10G WAN, ASR or Nexus?

Troy.Tripp1
Level 1
Level 1

First off, my creds: I've been working with Cisco for almost 20 years, so I'm very familiar with routing and switching.  But my long experience seems to be working against me in my current environment with regards to large WAN circuits being installed in my data centers.

Currently I have a small number of 10G MPLS WAN circuits coming into my DCs, and more are on the way.  My ASR 1001-X CE routers are maxed out on the number of 10G ports they support.  My solution is to move to the ASR 1006 routers, which will give me more ports for the planned number of circuits and spare capacity for future expansion.

But I've got another Cisco engineer (also very knowledgeable) saying we should move away from routers and deploy Nexus 93xx switches as our CE routers instead.  His point is that the Nexus switches are both cheaper than the ASRs and have many more 10G ports for future expansion.

This is where my long experience is working against me, because my opinion is that routers are routers, switches are switches, and every time I've seen people try to blur the lines between the two, it's come back to bite them.  The other engineer's attitude is that my approach is outdated and that Nexus switches can do the job just as well for far less.

So, does anyone have experience using Nexus 93xx as WAN routers?  Were there any problems?  Were they actually better?  I'm not trying to prove that I'm right and that he's wrong, just looking for anyone who has real-life experience using switches as routers.  Thanks for your opinion.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

nagasheshu2010
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Troy,

Hope you are doing good.

I have not used Nexus 9 series but familiar with Nexus 7 and 5k's.