Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS for inbound Internet traffic

atsukane
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I'm new to QoS so appreciate any help/guidance :)

There's a requirement to limit bandwidth usage for a specific application's inbound traffic. 

This app pushes data up to S3 bucket in AWS, data gets processed by the vendor, and once the data is processed automatically downloaded from S3.
During the test over a 500Mbps link, initial upload was using average of 20Mbps, but subsequent download spiked to over 240Mbps briefly. The vendor has confirmed no way of throttling b/w usage from their app.

As I do not want this traffic to impact other business apps like O365 in production environment, I want to limit the bandwidth usage for the inbound traffic somehow. 

host/vlan <=> CAT6707 15.2(1)SY7 <=>  inside ASA5555 9.4(4)29 outside <=> Internet <=> S3

In this scenario, would it be possible to use QoS to limit bandwidth for INBOUND traffic? My initial thought is that by the time the traffic hits ASA it's already used up a chunk of b/w, so it's too late to do anything, unless we can do something during initial upload phase to somehow mark the traffic and that is applied to the download process? 

Many thanks,

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Sorry, I'm unfamiliar with ASA QoS features. On a Cisco ISR, you would just have police (or shape) #. Then for a policy with a policer, if could be applied as an interface ingress or egress police (shapers can only be assigned as egress).

As to burst bytes, basically physical transmission is a line rate, so the burst determines the amount of data that can transmitted during some measured period. If the transmitted data exceeds the allowed capacity during the measured time period, excess is dropped with a policer (or queued with a shaper). At the end of the period (known as the Tc), the capacity is reset.

Some further explanations on CIR, Bc and Tc (and Be):