Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus 5000 mls qos trust DSCP on Fabric Extender ports

pverstegen
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am really new to the Nexus 5000 and it's 2148 fex modules. I have no SAN interfaces (FCoE) installed only ethernet interfaces. I understand that qos is enabled default and the trust state of every port is "trust cos".

I only want to trust servers QoS settings and forward them unmodified to my upstream Cat.6509 in the correct queue.

So I guess no extra configuration is needed on dot1q ports if servers are able to mark cos bits. Am I correct?

But what about access ports attached to physical servers on 2148 fex modules. On IOS I would configure "mls qos trust dscp" on this ports, but Í think that is not possible on NX-OS.

What confguration items could make this possible?

Can you provide me with an example config?

Best regards, Peter

8 Replies 8

royalblues
Level 10
Level 10

By default the N5K trusts qos on all ethernet interfaces provided you have set the COS on the servers

Have a look at this link for sample config

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/datacenter/nexus5000/sw/troubleshooting/guide/n5K_ts_qos.html#wp1032630

HTH

Narayan

COS only exist if the port is configured with 802.1q. For normal access port DSCP will be used.

By default, Nexus will trust the traffic. All you want is trusting the marking from the server, you don't have to do anything unless you want to do some egress queueing and scheduling.

Regards,

jerry

Thanks Jerry.

So what you say is the following:

• on an access port of a Nexus 5020 "mls qos trust dscp" is ON by default and
  • on a trunk port of a Nexus 5020 "mls qos trust cos" is ON by default

So no extra configuration is needed (as long as the Server will do the correct marking) and the traffic is forwarded based on the uplink 1P6Q0T queuing policy.

Am I right Jerry?