Views
Helpful
Replies

Cannot connect to WRVS4400N using Quick VPN Client

cascade2011
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am very new to Quick VPN and have not had any success connecting with our router.  I hope I could get some help from the forum to guide me, or if an answer already exist in the forum, please direct me to it.  Below is my components info.

Cisco router:   WRVS4400N, Firmware V2.0.0.7. 

The router is behind a Comcast SMC business gateway modem

Remote computer:  Window 7 Ultimate 64 bit

I downloaded the Quick VPN client 1.4.2.1, and installed the client successfully but cannot connect using the VPN Client Account that I had set up in the router.  Below are several questions that I hope to understand.

1) Do I need to configure specific ports for VPN in the Comcast gateway firewall?

2) What IP address do I put in the Quick VPN client profile when I connect remotely?  The WRVS4400N modem shows 2 IP addresses in the Status:

DNS1:  68.xx.xx.176

DNS2:  68.xx.xx.132

Are these the IP that go into the "Server Address" on the Quick VPN client profile? and which one of the two?

or do I use the static WAN IP address provided by my Comcast account?

3) In the Quick VPN client window, what is the "Use Remote DNS Server" mean?

4) Do I need to create a client certificate from the WRVS4400N for the client

5) Is there any setup needed for the remote firewall (if the client is behind a home wireless router and modem, for example)?

I would appreciate very much any help from the forum.  Thank you.

3 Replies 3

mpyhala
Level 7
Level 7

Hello Hung,

Thanks for posting.

1) Do I need to configure specific ports for VPN in the Comcast gateway firewall?