cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring a c881-k9 - basics

rdk_cisco1
Level 1
Level 1

Folks.....I'm a real beginner at this and using a Command Line Interface has not made in inexperience any easier!

Basically I would like to get this unit a Cisco c881-k9 (and NOT Cisco 881-k9) configured for LAN access from my laptop and also PUTTY access from the WAN (FastEthernet4) interface and from a LAN port.

At this point I seem to have FastEthernet4 configured as I can ping it from our test LAN. 

I have created a VLAN2 which is associated with FastEthernet0.  When I connect to FastEthernet0 it assigns an IP address from the DHCP pool.  Eventually I want separate DHCP pools for each VLAN, but for now this is working.  As far as I can tell, my pool is not associated with any particular VLAN. 

Vlan1 seems to be special and I was not able to do any configuring with it.

I  have access for configuring using the CLI via the serial port cable to my laptop.  This is not very convenient, so access via the Vlan2 or the WAN port is desired.

Attached is my current configuration, much of which was the default when I booted up the c881.

This router will eventually be connected to the Internet via an IP address supplied by our ISP, so any additional modifications/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.....RDK

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

So to keep it short, I'll just provide answers point by point.

1- Yes, give VLAN1 an IP address and enable the FE ports. At least one of the ports needs to be up for the VLAN interface to come up.

2- OK

3- See your next comment.

4- Correct, but keep in mind you cannot have the same network in two different VLANs. Each VLAN will be it's own network.