cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Connecting my RVS4000 to my ASA 5505 to enable access to my servers

CyberWolves_2
Level 1
Level 1

I’ve been using a Cisco ASA 5505 Security Plus bundle for two years now without any problems. I recently changed my ISP to Verizon FiOS (which is providing me with 25 Mb bandwidth at a fraction of the cost of my old T1) which is set up to provide 5 Static externally facing IP numbers for my email, webserver and name servers;.  The problem is the Verizon router doesn’t support my use of the ASA Appliance. Verizon recommend I purchase a business class router and use it in place of they one provided with my installation. Verizon assures me that this will work so I bought a Cisco RVS4000. I have configured it to use the primary external IP number and have internet access; however, the new router is providing NAT addressing which the ASA is in conflict with (they are both using the same NAT IP range). I'm assuming the ASA 5505 is expecting to have access to the external IP address and NOT NAT address (at least that is how I have had it configured so far). I have to admit I don’t know a lot about networking and am hoping someone can tell me how to configure the new router to provide access to the five static external “real world” IP to my Cisco ASA Firewall. I’m assuming I may need to establish another VLAN and/or do some form of bridging but I’m in over my head at this point.

Worse case I can go back to using the router that came with my new line (and has a built in firewall); but I would much rather keep using
my ASA 5505 if ta all possible.

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated@

Wolf

5 Replies 5

mpyhala
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Wolf,

I think that the feature you are looking for is One-to-one NAT. Unfortunately this is not a feature of the RVS4000. The RV0xx series (RV016, RV042, RV082) support One-to-one NAT. See the following post for further details: