Views
Helpful
Replies

Getting VPN from the VPN client to see into the host network

paddycisco
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I am a real amateur here. I have configured a cisco VPN server, group and user on an SRP527W, ADSL2+ AnnexA, 802.11n ETSI, 2FXS/1FXO. I can connect from my PC with the Cicso VPN client on it (I get the banner) but I cannot ping into the local network at all. Once I do get in I will be using shares to work on files or VNC to take over a CAD workstation.

I am sure I just have not set up something but I don't know where to look. My local network is 192.168.15.***

Please put me right.

My setup is

12 Replies 12

chrebert
Level 4
Level 4

Hello Paul,

Try changing the starting IP address to 192.168.15.0, that way the VPN clients will get an IP address in the same network as the locally connected machines. 

Since you say you are able to connect it all looks correct to me except you are handing out a a different subnet to your VPN clients.

One other thing I wanted to mention is that once it is up and working you will be able to access file shares from the computers on the local network, however you usually have to do it by IP address instead of the computer's name.  So, for example, instead of //Server1/Sharename  you would have to use //192.168.1.10/Sharename to access those shares.

Let me know how that goes.

Christopher Ebert

Network Support Engineer - Cisco Small Business Support Center

*please rate helpful posts*

Hello Christopher

It appears that the VPN client must be on a separate network to any VLAN: If I try an address range matching a local VLAN I get this:

I was careful to select a range within 192.168.15 that was not allocated to anything.

correct your vpn network should be seperate to your local network

Yasien Adams
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Paul,