cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IP and MAC Binding on RV340 RV345 missing feature

junkycosmos
Level 1
Level 1

Migrating from an RV042 where we have 120+ static IP reservations set by MAC address and the option used to "block traffic from unknown MAC / IP".    Called Cisco support who confirms the feature is missing in RV340 RV345.

RV 345 DHCP.JPG

Here is a page that notes where this feature is in the RV325

https://supportforums.cisco.com/t5/small-business-support-documents/manage-ip-and-mac-binding-on-rv320-and-rv325-vpn-routers/ta-p/3170581

anyone have a suggested work around here?

requirements:

1. 120+ static DHCP IP reservations based on MAC

2. block MAC/IPs not on that list

3. ability to display MAC/IPs not in that reserved table

14 Replies 14

Iliya Gatsev
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi, My name is Iliya Gatsev. I am a Cisco TAC Network Engineer in the Cisco Small Business Support Center.

Let me check what can be done.

Iliya Gatsev
Cisco TAC Network Engineer
Together we are the human network .:|:.:|:. CISCO

Hi,

If you are searching for "Block MAC address on the list with wrong IP address." and  "Block MAC address not on the list.", please take a look on Security -> IP Source Guard

The IP Source Guard is a security feature that restricts IP traffic on untrusted IPs and MAC addresses by filtering traffic based on the configured IP MAC bindings. It is a filter that permits traffic on LAN ports only when the IP address and MAC address of each packet matches entries in the IP-MAC Binding table. This feature helps prevent IP spoofing attacks when a host tries to spoof and use the IP address of another host.

To configure the IP source guard, follow these steps:

Step 1    Click Security > IP Source Guard.

Step 2    Check Enable IP Source Guard if IP and MAC binding are required.

Step 3    Check Block Unknown MAC Address, if only the MAC address requires filtering irrespective of the IP Address.