Views
Helpful
Replies

Problem with the Inter-VLAN function of cisco RV160 routers

Matthys
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm a first year networking student, and I'm currently studying VLANs. My school got new cisco routers, rv160, which the students and teachers have little technical knowledge about.

We have a project in progress, which is to create a working environment, with 3 VLANs.

1. To start with, we have 1 server VLAN. This VLAN has a physical machine at 192.168.7.2, which is a VMWare ESXi machine, containing a Debian virtual machine that has no IP for now. The network address of the VLAN is 192.168.7.0 in /26. So the gateway is 192.168.7.62. VLAN ID 2
  2. The second VLAN is the "User" VLAN. This VLAN groups all user machines, where they get their IP addresses via DHCP. The network address of the VLAN is 192.168.7.64 in /26. So the gateway is 192.168.7.126. VLAN ID 1, this is the default VLAN.
  3. Finally, the DMZ VLAN. This VLAN has a Raspberry PI serving as a DMZ. It's configured in 192.168.7.193. VLAN ID 3
    The network address of the VLAN is 192.168.7.192 in /26. So the gateway is 192.168.7.254.

For educational reasons, not security reasons, we are asked to make Inter-VLANs. But nothing to do, it just doesn't seem to work.

I can ping 192.168.7.193, which is the DMZ, but because it's the DMZ, but otherwise, I can't ping what's in the VLAN server for example. It's as if the button dedicated to "Inter-VLAN routing" has no effect, it's not possible to reach the other VLANs.

For additional information, NAT is in place, so each workstation/DMZ/servers can access the Internet. Moreover, we tried with ACLs, but it doesn't change anything. Whether it's my classmates or my teacher, we don't know where this problem could come from.

I provide you the screenshot of the router VLAN configuration.

The router's version is 1.0.01.03

Thank you again for your help

This will allow us to break the deadlock