cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV042 VPN , able to create tunnel but not able to connect using quickvpn

adrianmty
Level 1
Level 1

Im able to create a gateway tunnel with two rv042 routers in different locations  ( i can see the tunnel connected in the router) but the quick vpn utility is not working , i also tried to use the pptp as server as an alternative( im able to connect using windows connection to the pptp server but whenever I browse any of the four ip's allowed for the pptp server \\10.0.0.200-204 it takes me to the documents of the local computer....I attached the configuration for one of the routers it is the same as the other end , just the information is flipped.

Message was edited by: Adrian Torres

7 Replies 7

adrianmty
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a beginner installing vpn's , any help would be aprecciated. Thanks!

adrianmty
Level 1
Level 1

I just realized that by just creating the tunnel between both gateways im supposed to be already connected to the vpn. but i still cant connect using the quick vpn software (i created a client to gateway tunnel and then added the user in the router, im trying to connect from my house to either one of the offices routers....another question i have is ....im able to browse the router of the other end whenever im in the office by typing the router address but im still not able to see the other computers in the other end...do i have to be in the same workgroup to be able too browse the files? i added the nat traversal and netbios broadcast. i also enabled RIP in advanced settings ( receive RIPv1 and v2, and transmit RIPv2 Broadcast for both routers, after updating the firmware of the routers to v4.0.3.03 this options were deactivated for some reason,)..one of the routers is setup as 192.168.1.1 and the other is setup as  10.0.0.1 but both have the same subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 do they have to be different also?

Message was edited by: Adrian Torres

adrianmty
Level 1
Level 1