cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV220W - Connect to SSL VPN using Win7 Built-In SSTP

JustinMorea
Level 1
Level 1

I'm relatively new to establishing VPN connections and I'm having one heck of a time getting everything configured.

I'm setting up a RV220W at the office and trying to get VPN steup. I've have gotten Quick VPN connections working using the QuickVPN software. I've given up for now on IPsec VPN connactions and will come back to these later.

What I'd like to get setup is the SSL VPN connections using the Win7 built in VPN client. Is this even possible? I initially tried to connect to the VPN via the SSL Web access but I cannot get the software/divers to install on any of the 3+ Win7 64 bit machines I tried.

So can the SSL VPN on the RV220W be setup to connect to with the Win7 VPN Client using SSTP?

Any links or guidance on how to setup the cerificates on the server and where to install them on the Client PCs? I think this is my major issue right now as the error I get when I try to connect is either: "The certificate's CN name does not match the passed value" (Error Code: 0x800B010F)  or " A certificate chain processed, but terminated in a root certificate which is not trusted by the trust provider" (Error Code: 0x800B0109). I'm trying to use self signed certifcates and I'm not sure if that is the issue (self signed vs genuine) but I really am not getting anywhere with this.

Also, the VPN does not have a FQDN just a static IP if this matters.

While I'm at it, I'd also gladly take any good links for IPsec on the RV220W but I wont be tackling that until SSL & the certificates are setup.

Thanks,

Justin

6 Replies 6

JustinMorea
Level 1
Level 1

OK. Sorry to reply to myself but I got a few steps further. I figured I'd post how in case anyone needs to references this in the future or correct something I've done wrong.

• So I've decided to use a Self Signed Certificate.
  • First I went to the Certificate page on the RV220W Config