cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV220W Gateway-to-Gateway Inter VLAN Routing

JuliusGPIV
Level 1
Level 1

I picked up a pair of RV220W's and before I spent loads of time at a remote site, I figured I'd go through some VPN testing at home to make sure I could get it setup properly.  What this means is I've plugged the Internet uplink into a switch, then from the switch into both routers & configured them (using unique static IP's for each) from there.  For what its worth: While I have some IT experience, I don't have strong networking experience.

I setup several VLAN's on the local RV220W, and the end result is to make it so that an asset at the remote site with an IP in any of the ranges (192.168.121.0/24, 192.168.131.0/24, 192.168.141.0/24 and any future VLANs) can communicate with/access resouces at the local site.  Likewise, an asset at the local site with an IP in any of the ranges (.121, .131, .141 + any future VLANs) should be able to reach the remote resources (currently just 192.168.181.0/24, but future VLANs as well).

This evening I tried to focus on the relevant VPN pages of the Administration Guide to get the VPN up.  Leaving the defaults I got as far as establishing a link between both sites and it seems that things are working right: From the remote site (.181) I can access the local site (.121, .131, .141); and from the local site I can at least ping resources (a laptop) on the remote site. (Yay!)

However, when I physically connected an asset that had a 192.168.121.X, 192.168.131.X and 192.168.141.X IP addresses to the remote RV220W (which is 192.168.181.0/24), I couldn't see it from the remote or local sites.

I assume this is expected.  But I'm reaching out to the community to see what other possibilities might be available becuase networking is a weak area for me.  I figured it might be something like a Static [or Dynamic] Route but I really am not 100% sure.

'TECHNICAL' SPECS

Local Router LAN/WAN Settings: