Views
Helpful
Replies

RV220W - Setting Up VLANs Help

Fireman1224
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to VLANs and wanted some feedback as to how I have the router set up prior to deployment.  I have 5 VLANs set up as follows:

VLAN ID
DescriptionInterVLAN Routing
Device ManagementPort 1
Port 2
Port 3
Port 4
1DefaultEnabledEnabledUntagged

Untagged

Untagged

Untagged

Office

Disabled

Enabled

Tagged

Tagged

Tagged

Tagged

3USDA

Disabled

Enabled

Tagged

Tagged

Tagged

Tagged

4Cameras

Disabled

Enabled

Tagged

Tagged

Tagged

Tagged

5Guests

Disabled

Enabled

Tagged

Tagged

Tagged

Tagged

The USDA and Cameras VLAN will be on the same port with an unmanaged switch (I was planning on using MAC filtering to differentiate) and the Office VLAN will go to another unmanaged switch (using MAC/IP reservations here), the Guests VLAN was going to be used for the Guest Wifi only, keeping this completely seperate from the other networks.

Is there a better way to configure or do I need to make any further adjustments?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Fireman1224

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Dwight,

I don't see why you would need that other router as you still have Port 4 you could use ( based on what you've written above)  for the USDA VLAN.  If the device on the USDA needs to be reached externally a DMZ would probably be the best bet.  Otherwise this looks fine assuming those two different office ports are only connected at the RV.  Yes it is a good idea to exclude any VLANs on interfaces you don't want them on.

-Trent Good

** Please rate useful posts! **

-Trent Good ** Please rate useful posts! **

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

trgood
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Dwight,