cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV220W: Very slow wifi connection???!!!

zhu.xiong
Level 1
Level 1

I'm an IT professional with more than 10 years experience. I have spent last 5 days trying to figure out why the wifi connection to this router is so slow, but still no luck. I'm getting only 13Mbps even if my laptop is next to the router! (wired connection worked ok)

I have tried all sort of setting combinations, 2.4GHz/5GHz; N only/ G,N Mixed;  Auto/20MHz bandwidth; different channels; WPA2 encrypted vs open; disable firewall; wmm enabled/disabled; 1.0.0.26/1.0.1.0 firmware... no matter what I try, I always get only 10 - 15Mbps speed.

Once I replace this router with my old router, it worked perfectly --- getting 70 - 80Mbps with exactly the same testing environment and configuration.

I really expect this router to offer much faster wireless speed according to this review:

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews/31427-new-to-the-charts-cisco-rv-220w-wireless-n-vpn-firewall

Could anyone help me out? This is driving me crazy!

Much appreciated!

Kelvin

12 Replies 12

Eric Moyers
Level 7
Level 7

Hi, My name is Eric Moyers. I am a Network Support Engineer in the Cisco Small Business Support Center.

The issue that your describing here may be too complex to quickly resolve through e-mail and postings. I would highly recommend that you call the customer support center nearest you and let one of our answering agents assist you with this issue.

You can find a listing here: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/support/tsd_cisco_small_business_support_center_contacts.html

If you are in the US please call 1-866-606-1866. We are open 24 hours a day 7 days a week.

Eric Moyers
Cisco Network Support Engineer
CCNA, CCNA-Wireless
1-866-606-1866

Joergen Thomsen
Level 1
Level 1

FYI I have experienced a similar problem. It was solved by this, but this may not apply to your case.