cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV320 PPTP Server - Network Access

bhataNishi
Level 1
Level 1

(I'm a novice when it comes to many network features, so please excuse my ignorance...)

I'm looking for a replacement to my Linksys RVL200 router because it doesn't allow SSL VPN with my new Windows 7 laptop.  I have read that the RV320 has the same problem. 

However, the PPTP server feature of the RV320 may give me what I want.  I need access from home into a work network which does not have a server.  It has a bunch of stand alone PCs and various network devices.  I need access to modify network device settings using my browser or to use Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection tool to login to various stand alone PCs.

Does the RV320 PPTP Server option provide the same access into the network as the SSL VPN did with my old XP system?

6 Replies 6

mpyhala
Level 7
Level 7

bhataNishi,

PPTP will allow access to the LAN much the same as SSL VPN but is not as secure. You might want to consider a third party client such as Shrewsoft that seems to work well with most of the Cisco Small Business routers. Do you need Dual-WAN?

mpyhala,

Thanks for the feedback on PPTP. 

How is Shrewsoft different from Cisco's QuickVPN?  Don't they both need access to a server?  I tried (Linksys/Cisco) QuickVPN 6 years ago and was unsuccessful on my XP system.  That's when I used SSL VPN.

I actually don't need dual-WAN.  For some reason I skipped over the RV042G and RV180.  Are these two devices similar to the RV320?

-bhata

bhata,