Views
Helpful
Replies

SRP527W VPN Setup

Jarrett2401
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am currently trying to setup a system which will backup our NAS drive located in our office and mirror the data to a computer at home over the internet. The office has the SRP527W router running the lastest firmware and our home has a standard Sky router (Sagem). As far as I am aware both places have a dynamic external IP but all our devices locally have a static IP.

I am new to setting up VPN's and would like a guideline on how I should go about creating the connection. I have read through the VPN section of the SRP500 administration guide and have got a brief understanding of how this should be done but still am not 100% sure where to start.

From what I have understood I will have to use the Cisco VPN server option on my router. With that in place, I'm guessing I would need the client to use either the Windows 7 VPN wizard or something else like the Cisco VPN tool to connect. Our office does not have a static external IP address and I presume we would need to use the DDNS option on the router and create a DynDNS account. I know this will allow us to connect to our router from anywhere using a dyn address but doesn't this have some security issues?

Other than the basic outline of how the VPN should be setup, what crucial information is needed for the server to run correctly and for the client to connect correctly? E.g. IP addresses, subnets, port-forwarding...

Any help would be greatly appreciated 

9 Replies 9

Andrew Hickman
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Jarrett,

You will need to use the Cisco VPN client to access the SRP VPN server feature - the native Windows client will not work for this.  You can download the client from the Cisco web site if you have a support contract....if not, a search on Google should provide somewhere else to find it .