cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Static IPs Behind RV220W

JuliusGPIV
Level 1
Level 1

I'll start off by saying although I have some IT experience, networking is not my strongest.

Picked up a pair of RV220W's for a project I'm working on.  I have several IP's available, 4 of which are assigned to/in use by a server behind the RV220W.  All 4 of these IP's are static external IPs.  I'm trying to figure out how I can configure the RV220W so that requests to those 4 IP's get routed to the server.

Prior to purchasing this, I was under the impression what I was trying to do was called one-to-one NAT, but after reading the 'Help' document on the one-to-one NAT page, I don't think this is right.  Emphasis added below:

Cisco RV220W Wireless-N Network Security Firewall Help

Firewall
One-to-One NAT
One-to-one NAT is a way to make systems behind a firewall and configured with private IP addresses appear to have public IP addresses.
One-to-One-NAT Rule Table
This table lists the list of available One-To-One NAT rules configured by the user.
Private Range Begin: start ip address in private (LAN) ip address
Public Range Begin: start ip address in the public ip address (WAN IP),
Public IP Subnet Mask: The Subnet Mask of the public IP
Range Length: Range length maps one to one private address to public address up to the given range.
Service: This column shows service to be accepted by LAN Host.
The actions that can be taken on One-to-One-NAT rules are:
(Check Box At First Column Header): Selects all the entries in the table.
Add: Opens the One-To-One NAT Configuration page, to add a new entry.
Edit: Opens the One-To-One NAT Configuration page, to edit the selected entry.
Delete: Deletes the selected entries.

So according to their documentation, the server in question would need to be configured with a private IP.  Unfortunately, one of the applications I use is licensed via IP address and my understanding is that I cannot use the software with private/non-routable IP addresses.