Helpful
Replies

Total failure to get SR520-ADSL-K9 to connect to ISP

IanLyon222
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to Cisco.

We've (an independent school) just bought an SR520 with a view to replacing one of our Draytek 2820s. We need to set up some site-to-site VPN with NAT and the Drayteks won't do it.

I've been trying to configure the SR520 in just the most basic fashion using CCA (3.1) and the CLI but with no success. I can't get a PPP connection with our ISP.

I've tried following the instructions in the software config pdf and also tried replicating the various 'running configs' reported in other posts in this forum to allow connection to a UK ISP, with no success. I don't know how many times I've reset the poor thing to factory defaults.

I have to say that I'm dismayed at how flaky the CCA appears to be. Many of the things I've tried with it simply don't work and often end up in it hanging. Close to useless in my view I'm sorry to say.

So instead I've tried to use the CLI which seems a lot more solid but is somewhat impenetrable and there's precious little by way of supporting explanation.

Before I carefully put the thing back in the box, send it back and close the book on Cisco can anyone give me a few pointers.

12 Replies 12

IanLyon222
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Me again. I'm not prone to paranoia but I think Cisco must have it in for me as that last post just posted itself, without waiting for any user input.

I was just going to add that I'm happy to struggle a little more with the CLI if this is the only way to configure this thing but, in that case, where can I go for a little more background?

Many thanks,

Ian.

Hi Ian,

The restriction with CCA is that it only supports the configuration of PPPoE over ADSL.  This could very well be your issue.

To configure PPPoA using the SR520 CLI, use something like the following:

interface ATM0

no ip address

no atm ilmi-keepalive

pvc 0/38

encapsulation aal5mux ppp dialer

dialer pool-member 1

!