Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Comments
vvijaysa
Level 1
Level 1

A Wireless Distribution System (WDS) bridge lets you connect multiple access points together. WDS allows the connected access points to communicate with each other wirelessly. The clients who roam are most helped by this feature because WDS allows them to have a seamless experience. This makes it easier to manage multiple wireless networks as well as reduces the amount of cables required to connect the networks.

The below are the most common artices on WDS. Click to view the document:

Comments

Hi,

I have been looking for this solution - please let me know the configuration required in other APs connected to the main AP wirelessly.

Also, please refer to the diagram attached and help me figure out if the Cisco SMB 321 will work.

Thanks in advance,

~Syed

Eric Moyers
Level 7
Level 7

My name Eric Moyers. I am an Engineer in the Small Business Support Center.

I am sorry that you have not gotten a response to your question yet. I have been assigned to another project and I am just now getting to start answering some forum post again.

Yes the WAP121 or 321 would do great in this scenario. (I am assuming you would be using all WAP121 or all WAP321 for AP-1, 2, 3, and 4.) Here is what you would need to do.

First for Main AP-1, go to Wireless -> WDS Bridge. Enable the 1st three WDS interfaces. Look at the top and make a note of the local MAC Address listed. Go to AP-2 enable the first WDS interface. Put the Local MAC from AP-1 into Remote MAC Address and save. Make a note of the Local MAC address on AP-2 and put that in the Remote MAC address of AP-1. Make sure and save both configurations.

Follow the exact same steps for AP-3 and AP-4. Put the local MAC address from AP-1 into the remote MAC address of AP 3 and 4. Then add the Local MAC from 3 and 4 to the WDS interfaces on AP-1.