Replies

Cisco SG-300 VLAN Groups setup

kzhang
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm kinda new to this vlan. what we want is to set the following:

VLAN 10 for accounting (port 1-10)

VLAN 20 for sales (port 11-20)

VLAN (10+20) for servers that both accounting and slaes can access (port 22-25)

I've been goofing around with no luck, either one of them is accessible but the other group is not.

my setup is the following

port 1-10 : access ports, VLAN ID 10, untagged PVID

port 11-20: access ports, VLAN ID 20, untagged PVID

how should port 22-25 be setup so that vlan 10 and vlan 20 have access to?

7 Replies 7

kzhang
Level 1
Level 1

I was able to get this with the following:

G1 General PVID 10, 1T 10U

G2 General PVID 20, 1T 20U

G3 General PVID 1, 1U 10T 20T

so say port 1 are for accounting users, port 2 are for sales users, and port 3 are the servers.

Is this the RIGHT way to do it???

Ke Zhang,

With vlans, you can only be a member of one vlan.  Just how you can only be a member of one network.  So the ports that you have configured for accounting need to be access ports member of that vlan.  The only time you need more than one vlan is when your passing the traffic to another switch or a layer 3 device to route from one vlan to another.

Hi thanks for the reply, I have attached a drawing to clarify of what I'm trying to do.

Basically I need to seperated different departments and at the same time they all need access to the internet.

I can configure the different groups to be access ports and therefore they can be seperated, but how is the trunk port configured so that all have internet access??

thanks.

Dear Mr Zhang

'Hello' in Chinese script

Not trying to interfere with  my dear colleague Mr Carr work, but it is late at night here, I have turned on my 300 series switch and want to try to give you an answer.  The 300 series switches are many generations ahead of the old Linksys switches, the only thing they really have in common is a shared ordering part number.