cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Comcast Router and VLANs

Terp84Alum
Level 1
Level 1

I have another customer again in the restaurant/bar business. We are installing Comcast business class double or triple play (data, voice, video). The modem/router they provide is the SMC SMCDG3-CCR. Like my other installs, the network will consist of a private subnet and a public subnet along with VOIP. This is my first time with VOIP. Up to now, I've been using 2 routers to separate the subnets primarily because I have not full grasped the correct procedures and hardware to establish VLANs. The router isn't bad so I'm thinking of using a managed switch to establish VLANs.

I'd like to set up VLANs for VOIP, Public WiFi, and Private Network. All three would share the Comcast internet service. I believe the way to share the internet is to have one port that is shared by all VLANs and then simply plug the run from the router to that port. I thought I read where it was recommended to set up a VLAN for the switch management but that's a little over my head.

So, what I'm hoping is that Cisco makes a basic managed switch that's "dumbed down" a little so it can be configured kind of like the Linksys stuff via a browser and graphic interface instead of code. Kind of like this http://ui.linksys.com/files/SRW2024P/1.0.3/home/home_smb.htm

THOUGHTS.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPad App

Ken
7 Replies 7

Tom Watts
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Terp,

I am reviewing the admin guide for the modem. This seems to be a very basic unit. From the looks of it this box supports 1 ip address field and 1 dhcp scope.

The challenge will be with this unit is how do you want to manage traffic. This will dictate the quality of the switch you buy as well. Since the SMC box supports only 1 DHCP scope, do you plan to have an external DHCP server? If not, do you plan to use static IP addresses for all vlans except one of them?